TV Thoughts of the Week: Grey’s Anatomy, Smash, The Voice, and more!

[This post refers to episodes that aired from March 11, 2012 to March 16, 2012]

Hey everybody! A week of tv gone by, albeit not necessarily the best week, but it had its good moments. Especially in the beginning; the middle and the end sort of dipped a little. So without further ado, here are my thoughts:

Once Upon A Time, Ep 15 “Red-Handed”

OMG so much better than last week’s episode! Red/Ruby is awesome. And looks way prettier in the fairy tale world than in Storybrooke. We learned how Red met Snow and the importance of the red hood, which was really cool. As in, a hood that makes you NOT turn into a crazy human-killing wolf. Yes, that is definitely badass and super useful. All throughout the episode, I kept on thinking about the Red Riding Hood movie, the one with Amanda Seyfried in it. That movie is uber creepy and pretty messed up, but I was happy to see OUAT go a different (and more awesome) route as to who the wolf really is. The wolf looked pretty good as well. But that became sad really quickly when she unknowingly mauled Peter, the love of her life, to death…that was a really emotionally charged scene which wrapped the whole episode together. One of the most interesting storylines in the fairy tale world so far.

The Voice, Ep 7 “The Battles, Week 2”

When I think of a battle, my brain enters super mega destruction mode. Like a real kickass battle where people fight to the death. And so when I think of the battle rounds on The Voice, I seem to always want to watch this really loud song where the contestants are at each other’s throats and you can really feel the power and the excitement because that is just my perception of a ‘battle’. This week though, one battle managed to completely satisfy me without fists and fury that come alone with the word ‘battle’. And that battle is this one: Charlotte Sometimes vs Lex Land. Pumped Up Kicks is something I love to hear, so that already got me in the right mood for it. Then you got these two brilliant UNIQUE voices which together sort of changed my feel of the song. I LOVED THIS BATTLE. Going in, I wanted Charlotte Sometimes to win, but coming out, i was on team Lex Land by then. And I understand why Blake didn’t appoint her the winner, she gets nervous easily, and Charlotte Sometimes is more fun and that’ll help you in the live performances. If you haven’t seen it, please check out this battle. Okay, on the other battles…..uhm, I like how Cristina picked Sara instead of Jeff to win. Oh, and they did the whole Miranda Lambert calling Lex before the battle rounds thing again. It’s annoying. It’s major product placement and it’s like their trying to make Miranda Lambert ‘the coolest advisor on The Voice’ ever. Don’t get me wrong, it is actually very nice of her. But like, why you wasting precious minutes on this? An episode is already long enough. Kim Yarbrough vs Whitney Myer? Oh, we all knew Kim had to win, it’s just sad Whitney was collateral damage. I’m actually very happy with Cristina his week, she picked Lindsey Pavao as winner in her battle, and that’s great because Lindsey was one of my favorite blind auditions.

Smash, Ep 6 “Chemistry”

History is made at night, so close the books, turn off the lights, and LISTEN. Let my heart be the teacher, no one here to disapprove, as we review the lesson you’ve been MISSING. Let the moon be our only light. Cause history is made at night.

Stuck in my head all week! It’s a really beautiful song, and Michael’s voice is nice and deep. Turns out this show really is ADULT GLEE. Because this week, they really managed to put the adult in it with ADULTERY. It was crazy, and something I did not get at all. As in obviously, it’s not something I can relate to. And with that, I decided that Smash got way too adult for me this week. It’s not like I haven’t seen adultery before, Grey’s Anatomy HELLO. But Smash did it in such a different way. 2 weeks ago, I was logical about the whole Michael & Julia relationship, stating that they both have families. Then last week, I was all swept up in that kiss of theirs. Then this week we’re supposed to get on board with the fact that one kiss leads to adultery? And even after they did the deed, they were smiling about it. Like i said, I don’t get it. ALSO, yes, magnificent job doing it on the couch which all of us (including you) will most probably be seeing every episode. I think they (the show) rushed into it too fast, like give us more stolen looks and forbidden passion scenes to really make us like Michael & Julia before you let them commit adultery. I don’t know though, they could be going somewhere really good with this and I guess all we can do is just wait and see what happens next. Other notes: What, is Ellis Eileen’s assistant now? What on earth is happening!? TOM, keep your assistant in order!! (or better yet, FIRE HIM). Oh, and it took Ivy major mood swings and drugs to tell Derek off. Which was a pretty sweet and amusing scene. They ended the episode pretty abruptly for me, I still thought there was more and then my screen went blank and I was just stunned for a minute because it was over.

Cougar Town, Ep 5 “A One Story Town

JD/Zach Braff on CT!!! They kept him under wraaapppsss, I read all the spoiler news and saw all the spoiler pics that Scrubs was invading CT this week, but they didn’t tell us about JD! Oh, it was such a great surprise!

Modern Family, Ep 18 “Send Out The Clowns”

DUNPHY FAMILY FTW!!!

One Tree Hill, Ep 10 “Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will

I was tweeting while watching this week’s episode, so you can check out my timeline for extra insight and in the moment emotions. Anyway, Dan might be dead, and I’m going to say it you guys; he’s definitely redeemed himself for his previous sins. If you really think about it, who else would do that for Nathan? And when Nathan shot the Bad Guy, Bad Guy said what everrryoonneee was thinking: ‘Like Father, Like Son’. We have officially come full circle.

This scene was beautiful:

Was so nice to see Clay being healthy and finally moving on from Sara and that part of his life. Even you didn’t hear what he said, the scene already looks so beautiful which is why I included the screenshot in the first place. I…don’t like Quinn, BUT she is good for Clay, so maybe she’s not so bad after all yeh.

And then there was the whole Xavier attack scene, in which everyone was actually glad to see Tara. Thank god Brooke is safe. It crossed my mind that they could potentially kill her off, WHICH WAS A TERRIBLE THOUGHT so yay for Brooke not dying!

What I’ve learnt from this episode and I guess the season so far IS: the law is stupid. and if you want to get rid of bad people, I guess we’ve got to do it ourselves.

I’ve been keeping count of the reveal of the mysteries they showed in the first episode of the season, and as off this episode, all 6 have been revealed. Wow, episode 10 is super pivotal. We have 3 more episodes till THE END. And after this episode, I assumed that all the thrill and mystery would be sort of over. BUT THEN, I saw a sneak peek on TVLine from next week’s episode and I’m so happy to see that their keeping the thrill going!!

Grey’s Anatomy, Ep 17 “One Step Too Far

It took a patient losing her speech to get Derek to realize that MerDer are just not destined to work together?! UNFAIR. AND SAD. BUT THAT IS THE POINT. I LOVE GREY’S ANATOMY! You all watched the scene with Morgan & Alex in the meeting with Arizona, Callie and Teddy right? I was grinning at the thought of a new romance between Alex and Morgan (that is her name right? sorry if isn’t). But towards the end of the episode, grey skies entered the picture and that is NOT a good idea apparently. And now the sad and DISAPPOINTING part….Owen admitted that he did in fact cheat. What happened? I always believed Owen to be the good helpful army guy he is. Sure, he’s made some very controversial and questionable decisions in the past. But he was always a good guy trying to do his best…and his defense for cheating is “it hurts to love you (Christina)”. Who do you think he cheated with? I’m opening the possibility of it just being a random chick but hoping it’s someone we know because that would be excellent drama.

Private Practice, Ep 17 “The Letting Go

Erica’s going to die. After facing death, then getting awesome surgery and beating death. Death comes back. Talk about a cruel destiny. The best scene was when Mason ran out of the room towards Charlotte as he kept saying ‘I didn’t cry’. And then they show Cooper in the background and his face like that. Owh, just gut wrenching that was. Moving on, Amelia kept on mentioning that the baby was conceived while she was doing drugs and all sorts of things. Logically, her baby has chances of being born abnormally…but the question is, are they going to go there?

The Vampire Diaries, Ep 16 “1912

We’ve seen how awesome TVD episodes can be…this one fell short, no? The only reaaalllllyyyy important part is when we find out that the ring Alaric wears is turning him into an absent-minded killer. And Meredith Fell is a really confusing person. Hoping to see Caroline and Klaus next week, i miss them!

Nikita, Ep 16 “Doublecross

Nikita’s back! Yayyy!! Okay, let’s get to it….so Carla is dead? I’m very doubtful of deaths lately, and thus finding it a bit hard to believe that Carla is dead. She’s such an important part of division, and Nikita. And we only got to see her a few episodes…and now she’s dead? I don’t see how she can be NOT DEAD because Nikita closed her eyes and everything. But…yes, for some supernatural reason, I am just not convinced. How immensely complex (and smart) was Nikita this week? I like that she can be the badass killer we all know and love AND the loving, do-the-right-thing, caring, apologetic person that has brought all these people together to fight against Division. It started out with her, and now we have Alex, Birkhoff, Sean(?), Ryan (he lives! yay!), Michael, and Owen fighting the same cause. So yea, we have definitely come a long way and Nikita has grown. And then there’s Percy, who is super elusive.

That’s it for the week folks! Thank you for reading and do leave comments below on your opinions and thoughts of the weeks’ episodes. More shows return next week and there’s the season finale of Pretty Little Liars, so whatever you do, don’t stop watching TV.

Leave a Reply

