Goodnight One Tree Hill

The tears on my face have dried up,and ‘I Don’t Wanna Be’ is on repeat for the rest of the night. That was the fastest 50 minutes of my life. Just like that, One Tree Hill is over.

***

How do you know where to begin when we’re at the end? The answer to that is to simply start over. [That’s right! ONE TREE HILL MARATHON WOOOO] I am not saying goodbye (mostly cause I refuse to), I am saying hello because I’ve already started rewatching from the beginning. And that gives me so much comfort because I know that what I just saw is not the last One Tree Hill episode I’ll ever see. There are 187 episodes of One Tree Hill. Even if that number will never increase, my point remains the same: There are 187 episodes of One Tree Hill. Spanned across 9 years, we have been blessed with 9 seasons full of basketball, time jumps, death, and even life. It’s for that reason, I will remain eternally grateful to everyone that made One Tree Hill possible, starting with Mark Schwahn. Words cannot describe how great this man is because of what he contributed to the world. He deserves the biggest plaque there is.

Thank you to Sophia Bush, Bethany Joy, and James Lafferty for sticking with us for nearly a decade and if anybody is listening: TURN AN UNKINDNESS OF RAVENS & THE COMET INTO REAL BOOKS (final wish)

***

Haley takes the stage, Chase still can’t make drinks, and Logan gets cuter (if that’s even possible)….THIS IS: THE END OF ONE TREE HILL (this is also: so sad)

Mark Schwahn’s style is to repay the loyalty of a fan, and it’s no secret he loves to make references to earlier seasons, here were my favorite from the final episode:

  1. ‘Make a wish and place it in your heart’ voiceover. First heard in season 5, he brought it back and used it as the ending of all ends. 9 seasons of One Tree Hill, and honest to god this specific voiceover was always the one I remembered the most, and obviously I’m not the only one. It was pure magic hearing this again, and this time I could actually say it along with them.
  2. Nathan surprising Haley with mac’n’cheese for dinner and that whole scene. It was a shoutout to their first date AND their first tutoring session way back in season 1.
  3. I don’t know if this officially counts as one, but it meant to something to me: the red traffic lights outside Karen’s Cafe/Baker man, it was Peyton all the way. OH! And if that’s not counted, I say the kids (and Skillz) throwing down water balloons from the rooftop.

I don’t know about you but I can definitely pick out my top 5 moments from the series finale. The whole thing was BEAUTIFUL, but come on, there was totally a few winners for me:

  1. Gavin DeGraw. When he sang his first song, I was like “oh shit!”, and then when he sang WHEN HE SANG “I Don’t Wanna Be” I went all “OH SHIT!”. They brought Gavin for the finale *clapclapclapclapclap* that is the best present ever. I have no doubts in the mind that I wasn’t the only one singing along and crying at the same time.
  2. The scene in Karen’s Cafe with everybody.
  3. Logan calling Quinn “mom”. That is the best boy in the whole world ladies and gentlemen.
  4. All the shots of Tree Hill and its respective places.
  5. Chris Keller performing “Loaded Gun”! Like, how do you not love him/it?

The show ended full circle, with JAMIE SCOTT NO 12 (!!!) running into the court after they had shown us that he beat Nathan’s record (and all the kids semi-grown up as well as Millie expecting: awwwhhhhh).

***

I thought I would start crying again as I wrote this post, but the truth is, after all that, I’m smiling. I am just so happy to celebrate One Tree Hill, just like they celebrated Tric’s 10th anniversary. You can’t deny that was the best journey you had the joy of taking.

***

In all seriousness, One Tree Hill was a real show. It was the most real show I watched because it was more than just about life. If you put all these storylines into a show like Gossip Girl, it would come off so ridiculous, we would all be rolling our eyes. And that’s why One Tree Hill is special. A dog running off with a heart goes down as being one of the most memorable moments in the history of the show.

You hear it everywhere, and you say it as well, ‘life’s unfair’. And that’s the main thing I learned from watching this show since I was 9/10 years old: good things happen to bad people. We watched our favorite characters suffer episode after episode, and then we watched them come out of it, only to be faced by another one. Just sit down and count all the hardships Nathan & Haley have faced and then take a look at them at them now. It’s a show about strength, about growing up, and about family.

***

We used to watch One Tree Hill with the lights off in bed. My dad would be asleep, and me and my brother would be on either ends of the bed as we watched with our mom. If i’m not mistaken, I think my mom stopped watching suddenly, so me and my brother took to watching out in the hall. Then he stopped watching after season 4, and I took to watching on my computer screen. Whenever my mom would come in when I was watching, 75% of those occurences, she would ask me what I was watching. After I told her, she would go “that’s still on?”. Well, not anymore, mom.

***

Goodnight One Tree Hill

Leave a Reply

