Fresh off my brain: House Finale

I am not a critic, I do not remember things that happened years ago to a character, and I what I say isn’t necessarily important. This post will not make you believe my views, which may or may not even be correct. All I know is that I just watched the final episode of a beautiful show – an intelligent show, and I have a few thoughts about it which are probably really obvious already. But that doesn’t matter. I am going to go ahead and be ‘Captain Obvious’ because I just feel like it, people.

David Shore and Katie Jacobs, creators and showrunners of House, are never bored with House. 8 seasons of him and their still not done learning about him. And isn’t that how you feel after watching the ending? That even though they practically spread out what makes House House on the floor of a burning building, we have no idea. That’s what makes Gregory House great. I never knew how Chase, Wilson, Foreman, and Cameron could just go “because that’s what House wants us to think” in ever episode. I never got that, maybe because I was naive but honestly not knowing just made watching House so much more better of an experience.

[SPOILER ALERT] When he “died” in that building, I knew that wasn’t it. There was no way that could just be it. Then he lived, because he “went out from that the back”, like it was so simple. He picked friendship over escaping the pain even though Wilson is going to die – which by the way, I am so glad they didn’t show us; that would not be a fun ending. We know that Wilson has five months to live, but isn’t it nice remembering House as best friends riding off in their sick motorcycles? I’m feeling pretty grateful about that.

The finale, like every other series finale, brought back the old and the dead for one last hurrah. They hit through every check point of bringing the show back full circle by talking about House’s care for the puzzle only and mentioning time and time again that ‘Everybody lies’. They tied up all the loose ends and showed us how life went on for everybody else. David Shore, Hugh Laure, and Katie Jacobs gave us closure AND endless possibilities to do whatever we want with House and Wilson.

The part where he faked died and then lived his life as a dead man to be there for Wilson was genius and made Wilson so happy. In a way though, I feel like we could take that and make it bigger. Imagine you, the audience, as Wilson and House representing the show in general – and that’s basically what I think about the ending.

My emotions/thoughts throughout the course of the finale went from denial, to scared, to sad, to bewildered, and then to happy (but still slightly bewildered – you need a lot of time to process something like this). The important part is that I ended happy. That’s how I know that I enjoyed this ending, no matter what other people are saying, I am happy that House ended this way.

All of that was just feeling all zen from the finale and en ending to an 8 year long show that has received so much praise over the years. In a few days, I will probably be mad that the show’s gone and will continuously wonder: Where else am I going to see Hugh Laurie’s blue eyes? Who will teach the people everybody lies?? How will we know that it’s never lupus??!

Oh House, I will miss you. P.S: Wilson, your black leather jacket was slick!

Leave a Reply

